Invited lectures

Plenary talks


Prof. Dr. Serge Bourbigot, ENSCL, Lille, France
Materials in extreme fire: design, evaluation and characterization


Prof. Dr. Xin Wang, University of Science and Technology of China, Hefei, China
Cardanol as a versatile building block for fabrication of bio-based flame retardant epoxy thermosets


Prof. Dr. T. Richard Hull, University of Central Lancashire, Preston, UK
Fires caused by electric vehicles: flammability and smoke toxicity


Prof. Dr. Teng Fu, Sichuan University, Chengdu, China
Programmable design on demand: quantitative contribution of molecular motifs in flame-retardant thermoplastic polymers


Prof. Dr. Jaime Grunlan, Texas A&M University, Texas, USA
Water-based and environmentally-benign flame retardant surface treatments for polymeric materials


Prof. Dr. Francois Tournilhac, ESPCI, Paris, France

Prof. Dr. Hao Wang, University of Southern Queensland, Toowoomba, Australia

Prof. Dr. De-Yi Wang, IMDEA Materials Institute, Madrid, Spain






Prof. Dr. Laurent Ferry, École des Mines d’Alès, Alès, France
Flame retardancy of engineering polymers using ionic liquids


Dr. Alexander B. Morgan, University of Dayton Research Institute, Dayton, USA
Reactive Flame Retardants for Aerospace-Grade Epoxy Flame Retardants:  Design Considerations and Example Chemistries


Prof. Dr. habil. Bernhard Schartel, Bundesanstalt für Materialforschung und –prüfung (BAM), Berlin, Germany
Sustainability finding its way into flame retardancy: food for thought between fake fiction and future


Prof. Dr. Aurelio Bifulco, University of Naples, Naples, Italy
Aliphatic silica-epoxy systems containing dopo-based flame retardants, bio-wastes, and other synergists


Prof. Dr. Sheng Zhang, Beijing University of Chemical Technology, Beijing, China 
Advances on Flame Retardant Materials for Batteries in New Energy Vehicles


Prof. Dr. Sabine Fuchs, Hamm-Lippstadt University of Applied Sciences, Hamm-Lippstadt, Germany
From flame retardant polystyrene foams to intrinsically flame retardant styrenic copolymers without halogens


Dr. Jürgen H. Troitzsch, Fire and Environment Protection Service (FEPS), Ascona, Switzerland 
Passive fire safety in conventional and e-vehicles: status and trends


Prof. Dr. Baljinder Kandola, University of Bolton, Bolton, UK 
Fully bio-based versus carbon/glass epoxy composites: scope and limitations in fire and physico-mechanical performances


Prof. Dr. Yang Rongjie, Beijing Institute of Technology, Beijing, China

Prof. Dr. Chris Slootweg, University of Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Prof. Dr. Manfred Döring, Germany

Prof. Dr. Yuan Hu, University of Science and Technology of China, Hefei, China

Prof. Dr. Yu-Zhong Wang, Sichuan University, Chengdu, China






pinfa awards

pinfa sponsors prizes for three best oral presentations on PIN Flame Retardants by young researchers

  • The best paper will receive 1500 €, the runner-ups 1000 € and 500 € each
  • A committee with members from pinfa companies and the scientific committee of the conference will pick the winners
  • Students and researchers are eligible up to 5 years after their final academic degree (e.g. PhD)
  • Criteria for being selected: exciting research on non-halogenated phosphorus, inorganic or nitrogen flame retardants with some chance of commercial implementation; covering both flame retardants performance and sustainability aspects; excellent oral presentation


We thank the pinfa for their financial support to the above mentioned awards.

Abstract Submission

Abstract submission is open from October 3, 2022 through January 13, 2023


Please consider the following instructions while preparing and submitting the abstract:

  • Abstracts must be submitted using the template found here

  • Follow the instructions on the abstract template carefully

  • Instructions are embedded in the abstract template

  • Complete the entire abstract submission form (3 pages)

  • Maximum length for the abstract is two pages (including the references)

    • Remember to respond to the questions on page 3 of the abstract form and submit all three pages

  • Submit abstracts  or email the abstract to

  • The subject line of the e-mail is to read as follows: Abstract Submission FRPM23

  • Abstract file name: Abstract_FRPM23_initial-first-name_Last name (i.e.: Abstract_FRPM23_S_Gaan)

  • Indicate on page 3, what type of presentation you prefer

  • Notification of abstract acceptance will be sent by February 15, 2023

  • Important to note: six travel grants are available to students and early stage researchers. For more information, refer to page three of the abstract or click here


Student Awards

To encourage participation in the conference from young researchers like early stage PhDs, Doctoral, Master and Bachelor Students, the organizing committee plans the following:

1) Provide travel grants for upto 6 young researchers with a maximum amount of 750 CHF per grant. This grant can be used to pay for the registration, travel or lodging costs for the confer-ence. The young researcher will also receive an official certificate from the FRPM23 organizing and scientific committee for their successful application. Thy are encouraged to submit an abstract for an oral or poster presentation, CV and a motivation letter. The scientific and local organizing committee will review their application and make a selection.

2) Best poster award for 6 young researchers in student (Doctoral, Master and Bachelor Students) and Post Doc. (early PhDs, upto 2 years after their doctoral thesis) category. The awardees will receive a certificate of merit, plate/ trophy and a small gift Voucher). The scientific committee of the FRPM23 conference will judge the contents of the posters and their presentation and select the awardees.

The submission of application for travel grant will start with the abstracts submission in October 2022.
For any further details please contact the local organaizing committee.


We thank the Ingoborg-Gross Stiftung for their financial support to the above mentioned awards.

 Deichstraße 1, 20459 Hamburg, Deutschland



Hotels within close proximity to Empa Dübendorf.

Reserve your room early as June is a busy month in Zurich.


Sorell Hotel Sonnental (15 minute walk or Tram 12 to stop close to Empa "Am Ring")

Zürichstrasse 94/96

8600 Dübendorf

Tel: +41 44 802 12 82


Hotel Bahnhof Dübendorf (12 minute walk or bus 760 to Empa)

Bahnhofstrasse 64,

8600 Dübendorf

Tel: +41 44 821 62 06


Harry's Home Zürich Wallisellen (10 minute walk to Empa)

Seidenplatz 3

8304 Wallisellen

Tel: +41 44 798 28 00


Hotel ZwiBack (10 minute walk to Empa)

Am Wasser 3 (Zwicky Süd)

8304 Wallisellen

Tel: +41 44 325 44 66


NOVOTEL Zurich Airport Messe (short walk to Tram 12 on both ends)

Lindbergh-Platz 1 –

8152 Glattpark (Opfikon)

T. +41(0) 44 829 90 11


ibis Zürich Messe Airport  (short walk to Tram 12 on both ends)

Heidi-Abel-Weg 5

8050 Zürich

T. +41(0) 44 307 47 78